Preparing for Graduation – Part 1

­­By Hattie Goplen – Communication Arts Major – Class of 13′

Graduation…
To some it may be closer in time than others.  I could say a lot of clichéd and inspirational thoughts about that word; like how college is the best four years of your life… or how the real world is wonderful and amazing and how much you should be looking forward to it. The truth is, few people hear that it is going to be a lot of work, that we will probably question our decisions, career choice, and personal identity more times than we can keep track of.

As an Advertising and Graphic Design senior in the Communication Arts Department at Crown College, I understand the confusion that ensues the approach of graduation. I have questioned myself more now than ever.  Though I may not have all the answers, I am very thankful that I have prepared myself for whatever path I find myself on after graduation.

If I could give advice to any college student it would be this: gain experience in you’re given career field, starting as early as sophomore or even freshman year of undergrad through senior year. Internships are a great way to confirm or eliminate the career path you have chosen for yourself.

Yes, we have all heard the horror stories of intern life as a coffee runner or copying machine slave. As an intern for far too long, I have realized that more often than not, interns are appreciated for effort and ambition to learn than skill. Skill is something you can improve, but you can’t improve unless you try. I am currently completing my fourth internship, and I can honestly say I have learned more about which I dislike and have understood which areas I prefer to work as a communications professional.

If you are interested in looking for an internship in your field of study, I suggest going to the following link: www.crown.edu/academics/career-services. The Career Services Department here at Crown has helpful information to get you started. If you’re looking to speak with the head of the career services department, Don Talbert is the one to talk with. I also recommend speaking with a peer, professor or professional mentor that can brainstorm, give advice or even connect you to a prospective internship.  You never know what could turn up next!

Crown College
8700 College View Drive
St. Bonifacius, MN 55375
1-800-68-CROWN or (952) 446-4100
www.crown.edu

Leave a Reply

